Alexander McGregor Memorial Museum
18 Chapel Street (next to Trinity Methodist Church)
The original museum building in Chapel Street was donated to the people of Kimberley by the wife of the late diamond pioneer and mayor of Kimberley, Alexander McGregor.
This typical British Victorian/ Edwardian style building served as the original McGregor Museum untill the staff and collections moved to larger premises across the road and eventually to the site of the “Sanatorium” in Belgravia in the early 1970’s.
Together with the historic Methodist Church and Manse, it forms an important part of Kimberley’s architectural charm.
Today, the premises houses a Kimberley Schools and Churches, Malay Camp, Kimberley Firsts and Kimberley Municipality, – Artists and Writers, – Sport and municipal history sections.
4 Egerton Road (next to McGregor Museum)
The gallery contains a permanent display of the work of Alfred Martin Duggan-Cronin, Thandabantu, while the two front rooms reflect the early history of the house when the Currey and Pickering families were in residence.
The other rooms house a changing selection of temporary exhibitions.
The large photographic collection, housed on the premises include the work of A M Duggan-Cronin, Jean Morris and Aubrey Elliot.
Dunluce House Museum
10 Lodge Road, Belgravia
Dunluce is a typical late Victorian house with wooden facade and many of the original furnishings.
Lillianville, as it was first known, was designed by D.W. Greatbatch and build in 1897. In 1902 it was bought by John Orr, the founder of a chain of department stores of the same name. He and his descendants lived here until 1975, when the house was purchased by Barlow Rand (Pty) Ltd and donated to the McGregor Museum.
Rudd House Museum
4 Loch Road, Belgravia
Rudd House was built in the 1880’s. This typical example of a residence of the late 19th century in Kimberley originally had only four rooms, but after several renovations it became the large sprawling veranda-clad manor it is today.
Known simply as, “The Bungalow”, Rudd House was built on the site of the tin shack that served as the dwelling of Cecil John Rhodes’ business partner Charles Dunell Rudd, who passed it to his son, Henry Percy Rudd. In 1971 it was donated to the McGregor Museum by De beers Consolidated Mines Ltd and restored to its former glory.
Magersfontein Battlefield Museum
On Kimberley-Modder River gravel road, reached via N8 (30km) or N12 (45km).
The Burgher Monument is also on the gravel road, just before/ past Magersfontein entrance
This is the site where General P.A. Cronje and his Boer troops defeated the British forces of Lt Gen. Lord Methuen who were on their way to relieve besieged Kimberley in 1899.
The Magersfontein Battlefield Museum was first opened in 1971 and renovated in 1999, with new understandings of Black involvement in the conflict. The museum has examples of the uniforms worn by the leading role players, a selection of firearms used, artefacts from the battlefield and an audio-visual presentation. With this display visitors can experience the battle as if from a darkenedBoer trench with all the sights and sounds as the action unfolds.
Memorial to the Pioneers of Aviation
Off the N8 towards airport, turn left past the army camps(4km)
The museum was first opened in 1971 and renovated in 1999.
On this site of the first flying school in South Africa, this museum comprises of a memorial and a reconstructed hanger with a replica of the Compton Paterson biplane used in flight training. It commemorates the role played by early aviators in establishing the South African Air Force.
Cecil Compton Paterson, Captain Guy Livingstone and E. F. (Bok) Driver arrived in Cape town in December 1911 for a series of demonstration flights. These demonstrations, including one in Kimberley, brought aviation to public notice.
Compton Paterson established his own flying school, the first in South Africa, at Alexandersfontein, in July 1913. Five of the pilots he trained eventually became the first pilots of the newly formed South African Aviation Corps, which went into action on 6 May 1915, when Kenneth vander Spuy flew a reconnaissance sortie at Walvis Bay. The flying school at Alexandersfontein was abandoned in 1914 due to the outbreak of World War One and Paterson’s return to England.
Wildebeest Kuil Rock Art Centre
About 16 km from Kimberley on R31 to Barkly West
A visit to this rock art centre can be a deeply moving experience, and an informative one for school groups.
Khoe-San people, researchers and other stakeholders joined together to conserve the rock engravings here, some 200 spread over a small hill.
The site, surrounded by land owned by the !Xun and Khwe San people, is on a servitude set aside for rock art conservation and public access.
Our custodians / tour guides will help make your visit special. The experience begins at a Visitors’ Centre, where there are displays, and an auditorium with a twenty minute introductoryfilm. The 800m walk-way weaves up and over the hill via a number of information boards, with commentary provided by our guides on multiple layers at the site.
About 45 km from Danielskuil on the R31 to Kuruman
Wonderwerk Cave was formed millions of years ago. Over time sand was blown into the cave to gradually form horizontal layers of sediment, of which the lowest levels date back to about two million years ago.
Archaeological excavations have shown that all of these layers contain stone tools, which indicate that people lived in the cave over the entire period. Wonderwerk Cave thus has a very long record of human history, which exceeds that of any other recorded cave. Evidence of the habitual use of fire by human ancestors has been dated to a million years ago, more than double the accepted age of this technology elsewhere in the world.
Discoveries made here have transformed our views of how early humans lived and give substance to the idea that the cultural practices that truly make us human, arose in southern Africa.
Wonderwerk Cave is a National Heritage Site. The exhibition in the Information Centre covers the rich history of the cave, the plants and animals of the area, early travellers and much more.