The noteworthy Kalahari-Oranje Museum, locally known as the Donkie Museum (Donkey Museum), is located adjacent to the Red Ox Steakhouse in Schröder Street, Upington. The museum complex includes the original missionary buildings erected by Reverend Christiaan Schröder in 1875.
The manse was built by Reverend Schröder in 1871 during the establishment of the mission station and served as living quarters of the missionaries. It was renovated after 1971 with a change to the original building, e.g. the bathroom was demolished and the steel window frames were replaced with wooden replicas. The cement stoep area was renovated to reveal the original masonry work. Visitors will also note the thick walls and especially the lowered door frames as Rev. Schröder was a mere 1.67 m (5’6”). The pieces of furniture on exhibition, as indicated, date from the period 1870-1920.
The church hall (1946) houses an exhibition of farming and agricultural items relating to the history of the Lower Orange Valley, artefacts of the Khomani San, as well as original gems from the region.
A life-sized donkey statue on the premises was inaugurated in 1986. It was sculptured in bronze by Hennie Potgieter and pays tribute to the unselfish efforts of donkeys in developing the region.
Museum visiting hours:
Mondays to Fridays:
09:00 – 12:30 & 14:00 – 17:00